Georgia Marijuana Laws Attorney

Marijuana LawsAs Georgia's leader in marijuana defense, we want you to know what you're up against if you are ever charged under Georgia's very strict and very punitive anti-marijuana laws.

How Georgia Defines Possession, Misdemeanor And Felony

What constitutes "possession of a controlled substance" under Georgia law is broadly defined. You could be charged with possession if you had:

  • 1 ounce or less of marijuana
  • Marijuana seeds or stems
  • Residue on a grinder used for marijuana

Felonies And Misdemeanors

Possessing any of the above makes your crime a misdemeanor. Punishment for a misdemeanor conviction can include up to 12 months in prison, a $1,000 fine, community service, and mandatory drug and alcohol evaluation and treatment at your expense.

But it could quickly get worse for you, as your misdemeanor can escalate to a felony if certain additional evidence is found such as:

  • Baggies
  • Large amounts of money
  • Individual packaging

If the police find any of these items, you can be charged with dealing or manufacturing under Georgia law. Those are felonies.

Punishments for a felony conviction include an automatic one-year suspension of your driver's license; up to 20 years in prison; permanent loss of your rights as an American citizen, including the right to vote and the right to bear arms; being barred from professions that require licensure, like insurance agents and stockbrokers; and automatic deportation if you are here illegally.

Being charged with a felony is serious. You need the help of a Georgia marijuana laws attorney.

Arrested On Marijuana Charges? Call A Marijuana Defense Lawyer.

Georgia's anti-marijuana laws are tough, but we're tougher. Call the Atlanta marijuana defense law firm of David West & Associates if you or a loved one has been charged with an alleged marijuana crime. For your free consultation, contact us today, 24/7, either online or by calling locally at 678-384-4069 or toll free at 888-597-6596 now.